In Their Own Words

In Their Own Words is a regular feature profiling HRI staff and volunteers who describe, in their own words, their experiences working in the field of human rights.

Will Holston, Social Media Coordinator

Describe what you do at HRI.
I’m the Social Media Coordinator. I’m in charge of updating and communicating with followers over HRI’s Facebook and Twitter pages, as well as any other social media platforms. I am also the primary author and editor of this blog.

When did you join HRI?
I started working for HRI at the end of July, so I’m the new guy.

How did you first become interested in human rights issues?
My dad’s been volunteering to take political asylum cases as a pro bono attorney for HRI for as long as I can remember. When I was younger, he even took me to court with him where he was arguing an asylum case. I guess you could say I’ve always been aware and interested in human rights issues having been raised around it, but, since I’ve been working here, I feel like I’ve already learned so much more than I ever knew before.

What do you think is the most pressing human rights issue facing the world today?
It’s hard to say, but, personally, I think the biggest obstacle to overcoming a lot of challenges is lack of awareness and lack of education. The digital age has made it easier for us to research and find out information about problems facing our world today, but it’s made it even easier to turn off our brain and ignore the things that upset us. If we stop paying attention, it’s that much easier for those perpetrating human rights abuses to continue.

What’s the story behind the picture you chose of yourself?
That picture was taken of me while I was scuba diving in the Great Barrier Reef around the Whitsunday Islands in Australia where I was studying abroad a couple of years ago. It’s easily one of the coolest things I’ve ever done.

What do you think? Have your say in the comments!

This entry was posted in HRI, Staff. Bookmark the permalink.