In Their Own Words

In Their Own Words is a regular feature profiling HRI staff and volunteers who describe, in their own words, their experiences working in the field of human rights.

Maria Cunningham, Administrative Assistant

Describe what you do at HRI.
As an Administrative Assistant, I am primarily responsible for welcoming the clients into our offices, finding out their Immigration needs as well as answering the main phone line.  I have been blessed with the ability to speak Spanish and English and this has given me an additional opportunity to assist both the clients and the personnel at HRI.

When did you join HRI?
I joined HRI in October of 2008.

How did you first become interested in human rights issues?
I believe that I have cared about the value of Human Integrity and Rights since I was very young.  I have always believed and I pray and desire to see Human Rights be a driving force that every human being has engraved in our Spirits and Hearts.

What do you think is the most pressing human rights issue facing the world today?
One of the most pressing Human Rights issues to me today is hunger; Spiritual and Physical.  As I sit today here at HRI in Dallas, Texas I thank God that I believe in the power of prayer , prayer moves mountains.  By this very simple act I know that I am trying to make a difference as I pray for our hearts to choose, think and look outside ourselves more than within our own personal lives.

What do you think? Have your say in the comments!

This entry was posted in HRI, Staff. Bookmark the permalink.