In Their Own Words

In Their Own Words is a regular feature profiling HRI staff and volunteers who describe, in their own words, their experiences working in the field of human rights.

Holland Banks, Client Services Administrator

Describe what you do at HRI.
I help clients in the Asylum and Women and Children’s Program obtain anything that they need outside of the legal spectrum, most importantly trying to help with medical needs, need for counseling, and housing.

When did you join HRI?
I joined HRI as an intern in September and joined the staff in November or 2010.

How did you first become interested in human rights issues?
I became interested in Human Rights issues and other areas surrounding this in my junior year of college. My general interest in other countries where large populations are suffering came particularly after reading the book The Bottom Billion in one of my international politics courses.

What do you think is the most pressing human rights issue facing the world today?
Inability to receive an education.

What do you think? Have your say in the comments!

This entry was posted in HRI, Staff. Bookmark the permalink.